Linda, Retired from Michigan

Today is a great day!  Why?  Because I can count. But I can’t count high enough.  There are too many blessing to count.  I’d never be done counting.  I’d start with the fact that I woke up this morning (1).  Then I’d count the fact that my health is better than others (2).  I couldn’t overlook my beautiful and healthy family (3). I could go on and on, but it would eventually sound like I’m bragging.  

I am a humble man, and in my humility I am open to a world of criticism and/or praise.  My ego yearns for positive reinforcement.  Today was no different, except for…

Today I met Linda, retired from Michigan.  While chatting with Jocelyn from North Carolina, I began to editorialize and socialize and entertain. It was beautiful!  My audience was responsive.  My presentation was edgy and relavent. My audience attentively smiled and asked for more.  We were engaged and it felt natural.  

Most teachers are natural entertainers.  We are knowledgeable about social interaction and we are well versed on how to perpetuate a conversation.  We are always seeking that “teachable moment.”  It’s like a drug, but way more addictive.  

Linda, retired from Michigan, was also a teacher. She knows the struggle, and she continues to advocate for our students and the conditions that current educators struggle with routinely. 

She looked me squarely in the eye and said, “you should be a comedian!”  I kindly thanked her for the compliment.  And then I thought, maybe Linda, retired from Michigan, was right. 

This fired me up, I told three more stories.  Career, relationships, and parenthood…these would be my topics (my comic bits). My audience agreed.  So I embellished and tweaked each real story until one man laughed so hard. I thought he was going to need a doctor.  

When I began to bloggers ago, it was personal therapy and reflection.  But what better therapy is there than laughter? And I could provide a service to others???   THIS IS MY love language–affirming words and service towards others.  

Stay tuned.  

  1. If you’d like to read more from the author of MSKTB, click on these links:

https://aztecpromises.wordpress.com/about/

https://aztecpromises.wordpress.com/2016/07/05/this-ones-for-the-agitators-240-years-to-present/

Let the journey continue!

Leave a Reply

