Stepping to the Mic…

Being married has reminded me that I am more accountable. Prior, I had grown accustomed to making decisions for myself that usually have little-to-no consequences for anyone else. I didn’t need to confer with anyone else. Even if I sought advice from a friend, I was still free to choose for myself what decisions I needed to make on a daily basis.

Getting married changed that for me. It’s a welcome change though. I love that someone else cares. It’s important that I still be able to exercise discretion, but simultaneously be accountable enough not to be reckless. I love my wife. I wouldn’t want to do anything that would harm her or cause any pain, worry, or concern.

I carry myself with a renewed, yet remarkably familiar level of accountability. I care just a little bit more. I have something to lose. I have someone waiting for me. I look forward to returning safely to her arms.

My wedding band is a reminder that the world still recognizes; that there is value in a committed relationship. My demeanor is no longer perceived as flirtatious. Instead, others observe a happier man; a secure man; a confident man. When I step into a room, I’m taken seriously. Others know that I am about my business. I’m not seeking new friends. I’m not looking for a partner. I’m settled and allowing the meaningful part of my life the space needed to be worth more.

I inadvertently increased my value by saying, “I do.” And I believe that I may have enhanced her life too.

Leave a comment